China drops tariffs on imports from 33 poor states

Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:51am GMT

BEIJING (Reuters) - China is adding 33 states to the list of developing countries whose goods are largely exempt from import tariffs, the Ministry of Finance said on Wednesday.

It said that from July 1 it would scrap tariffs on about 60 percent of imports from countries on the list, which include Ethiopia, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Madagascar, the Comoros and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Burundi, Malawi, Mozambique, Benin, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Central African Republic are also on the list.

In Asia-Pacific, beneficiaries include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Samoa and Vanuatu.

Since 2001, China has had 41 countries on the zero-tariff list.

<p>China's President Hu Jintao (L) and Angola's President Jose Eduardo dos Santos review an honour guard during a welcome ceremony at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing December 17, 2008. REUTERS/Grace Liang</p>
  • Africa
  • US
  • Europe
  • Asia
UK £ USD =1.2617
Euro USD =1.1124
Rand USD =0.0764