South Sudanese parties agree to share cabinet slots

Fri Jan 8, 2016 7:38am GMT

JUBA (Reuters) - South Sudan's warring parties agreed on Thursday to share ministerial positions in a transitional government of national unity, the chair of the body monitoring a peace deal said.

President Salva Kiir and his rival, former vice president Riek Machar, signed an accord last August to end fighting that killed thousands of people and drove more than 2 million people from their homes.

The deal stated that a transitional government would be created for a period of 30 months followed by an election.

Festus Mogae, the chair of the monitoring commission, said Kiir's government will nominate 16 ministers, including the ministers for finance, defence and justice.

Machar's SPLM/A will nominate 10 ministers to portfolios such as petroleum and interior which were reserved for his side.

Smaller parties will get four slots including the foreign affairs brief and the Cabinet Affairs Ministry, Mogae said in a statement.

He did not say when the appointments will be completed.

(Reporting by Denis Dumo; Writing by Duncan Miriri; Editing by Alison Williams)

South Sudan's President Salva Kiir addresses the nation at the South Sudan National Parliament in Juba, November 18, 2015. REUTERS/Jok Solomun
Powered by Reuters AlertNet. AlertNet provides news, images and insight from the world's disasters and conflicts and is brought to you by Reuters Foundation.