March 8, 2018 / 2:01 PM / in 3 months

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday:

SOCCER

Europa League last 16

Lokomotiv Moscow v Atletico Madrid (1600)

Athletic Bilbao v Marseille (1800)

Dynamo Kiev v Lazio (1800)

Viktoria Plzen v Sporting Lisbon (1800)

Zenit St Petersburg v RB Leipzig (1800)

Arsenal v AC Milan (2005)

FC Salzburg v Borussia Dortmund (2005)

Olympique Lyonnais v CSKA Moscow (2005)

Arsenal bid to see off Milan, Atletico at Lokomotiv Moscow

Arsenal take a 2-0 lead into their home match against seven-times European champions AC Milan in the pick of the last-16 second-leg matches. Atletico Madrid, second in La Liga, take a 3-0 lead to Lokomotiv Moscow. (SOCCER-EUROPA/, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, 400 words)

Premier League

Struggling Stoke prepare for crunch game against Everton

LONDON - Stoke City have not finished lower than 14th in their nine seasons in the Premier League, never failing to reach the 40-point mark usually associated with guaranteed survival. Those marks look an awfully long way away as they prepare to host Everton on Saturday in a slimmed down weekend Premier League programme — due to the FA Cup quarter-finals — featuring several clubs in danger of the drop. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Martyn Herman, 400 words)

MOTOR RACING

Formula One season preview package

We have moved the first three parts of a preview package for the start of the season in Australia on March 25. All stories are accompanied by pictures.

The third part moved at 0300 GMT/11 PM ET and featured interviews with Sauber’s Monegasque rookie Charles Leclerc and Force India’s Esteban Ocon and Sergio Perez. We also looked at Fernando Alonso’s busy year of competing in two championships. (MOTOR-F1-SEASON/LECLERC, MOTOR-F1-SEASON/OCON, MOTOR-F1-SEASON/PEREZ, MOTOR-F1-SEASON/ALONSO).

The package will continue on Friday

GOLF

Arnold Palmer Invitational, Orlando (to 18)

Woods goes for ninth win at Bay Hill

Eight-times champion Tiger Woods heads the field at Bay Hill, where Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose, Rickie Fowler and Hideki Matsuyama are among others also scheduled to compete. (GOLF-PALMER/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, 400 words)

TENNIS

ATP/WTA: BNP Paribas Open, Indian Wells (to 18)

Venus Williams faces Suarez Navarro in quarter-finals

Venus Williams makes her fourth career appearance in the Indian Wells quarter-finals when she faces Carla Suarez Navarro, and Angelique Kerber plays Daria Kasatkina. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/WOMEN, expect by 0300 GMT/11 PM ET, 400 words)

Federer takes on Chung at Indian Wells

World number Roger Federer, bidding for a sixth Indian Wells title, faces South Korea’s Chung Hyeon and Croatia’s Borna Coric plays South African Kevin Anderson in the quarter-finals. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/MEN, expect by 0300 GMT/11 PM ET, 400 words)

CRICKET

India’s Ashwin wants to be ‘near unplayable’

NEW DELHI - India’s Ravichandran Ashwin believes finger-spinners are battling a perception in limited overs cricket but has no doubt that the tribe would return as a hot property in short formats. (CRICKET-INDIA/ASHWIN,(INTERVIEW, PIX), expect by 0800 GMT/4 AM ET, by Amlan Chakraborty and Sudarshan Varadhan, 650 words)

RUGBY

Six Nations

England name team to face Ireland

LONDON - England name their team to face Ireland who will complete the grand slam with victory at Twickenham on Saturday. (RUGBY-UNION-NATIONS-ENG/, expect at 1000 GMT/6:AM ET, 400 words)

Wales name team to play France

Wales, bidding for their third win of the tournament, name their team to play France in Cardiff on Saturday. (RUGBY UNION-NATIONS-WAL/, expect by 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, 300 words)

Italy name team to face Scotland

Italy, who have lost all four games in the tournament, name their team to face Scotland in Rome on Saturday. (RUGBY UNION-NATIONS-ITA/, expect by 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, 300 words)

NBA

James and Cavaliers try to stop Blazers’ win streak

The Portland Trail Blazers put a 10-game winning streak on the line when LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers come to town after the Eastern Conference leading Toronto Raptors, winners of nine games in a row, visit the Indian Pacers in two of the nine games on the National Basketball Association’s schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NHL

Streaking Blue Jackets challenge Flyers

The Columbus Blue Jackets go for a sixth consecutive victory when they go against the team above them in the Eastern Conference standings, the Philadelphia Flyers, before the Western Conference leading Nashville Predators travel to the Arizona Coyotes in two of the nine games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

Asia Desk Editor: Peter Rutherford

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below