March 9, 2018 / 4:08 AM / 9 months ago

TABLE-Status of South Korea's nuclear reactors

    SEOUL, March 9 (Reuters) - South Korea's nuclear watchdog on
Friday said it has approved the restart of Shin Kori No.1
nuclear reactor after scheduled maintenance, taking the number
of offline reactors to 11.
    The Nuclear Safety and Security Commission said in a
statement that the 1,000-megawatt (MW) nuclear reactor will be
fully operational on March 14.
    Currently, South Korea operates 24 nuclear reactors. Nuclear
power supplies about a third of the country's electricity.
    Details are as follows:
    Reactors marked * are currently offline.
    Kori No.1*           587     Permanent closure              
    Kori No.2            650     
    Kori No.3*           950     Maintenance
    Kori No.4*           950     Water level rise
    Shin Kori No.1     1,000     
    Shin Kori No.2*    1,000     Maintenance
    Shin Kori No.3*    1,400     Maintenance      
    Note: The above reactors are all located near the city of
Busan, over 300 kms (190 miles) southeast of Seoul.      
    Hanbit No.1          950     
    Hanbit No.2          950    
    Hanbit No.3        1,000     
    Hanbit No.4*       1,000     Maintenance
    Hanbit No.5        1,000     
    Hanbit No.6        1,000     
    Note: These reactors are located in the county of
Yeonggwang, over 250 km (155 miles) southwest of Seoul.
    Wolsong No.1*         679    Maintenance                    
    Wolsong No.2          700        
    Wolsong No.3          700            
    Wolsong No.4*         700    Maintenance     
    Shin Wolsong No.1   1,000    
    Shin Wolsong No.2*  1,000    Maintenance
    Note: These reactors are located in the city of Gyeongju,
over 300 km (186 miles) southeast of Seoul. 

    Hanul No.1           950     
    Hanul No.2*          950     Maintenance     
    Hanul No.3*        1,000     Maintenance 
    Hanul No.4         1,000     
    Hanul No.5*        1,000     Maintenance 
    Hanul No.6         1,000    
    Note: These reactors are located in the county of Uljin,
over 200 km (124 miles) southeast of Seoul.
    Details of five reactors under construction (in megawatts):
    NAME              CAPACITY   DUE DATE
    Shin Kori  No.4     1,400    September 2018
    Shin Kori  No.5     1,400    October 2021
    Shin Kori  No.6     1,400    October 2022
    Shin Hanul No.1     1,400    April, 2018
    Shin Hanul No.2     1,400    February, 2019
    Details of the six new nuclear reactors to be cancelled (in
    NAME                CAPACITY  DUE DATE  
    Shin Hanul No.3     1,400     December 2022
    Shin Hanul No.4     1,400     December 2023
    Cheonji    No.1***  1,500     December 2026
    Cheonji    No.2***  1,500     December 2027
    Undecided  No.1***  1,500     Undecided
    Undecided  No.2***  1,500     Undecided
    *** Cheonji No.1 and Cheonji No.2 reactors were planned but
did not gain government approval, and the two power plants with
no name were planned but the location and construction schedule
had not been decided.

 (Reporting by Haejin Choi)
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below